Comino -Discover the little sister with its heavenly lagoon
Between Malta and Gozo lies the tiny island of Comino. Only 3.5 km2 (1.3 square miles) in size, Comino is car-free and easy to explore on foot. The name Comino is a romantic derivation of the name of the herb cumin, which was once grown here.
Over the centuries, Comino has been put to different uses by different rulers of the Maltese Islands. The island was inhabited in Roman times, but was largely insignificant until the arrival of the Knights. When the Knights came, the island served two main purposes: as a hunting grounds and resort area and as a staging area for the defense of the islands against the Ottoman Turks. In 1618, the imposing Santa Marija Tower was built by the Grand Master of the Knights of Malta, Alof de Wignacourt, giving Comino a trademark visible for miles. From here, the Knights monitored the stretch of sea separating Malta and Gozo and kept privateers away from the coast.
A visit to Comino is worthwhile at any time of year. In the winter, the island is an ideal location for hiking and photography. Without any cities or cars to mar the scene, visitors can breathe deep of the scent of wild thyme and other herbs. During the summer, its clear, warm sea makes Comino a paradise for water sports of all kinds. The Blue Lagoon, with its aquamarine waters, is ideal for swimming and is well worth the idyllic boat trip to get there. The island's one hotel organizes crossings to the Blue Lagoon. For more information, please call Tel.: +356 21529821/9.